Hate

hate

n 

  • To feel hostility or animosity toward
  • To detest.

I don’t use the word

Hate means to detest

I think if I try really hard

I really don’t like you at best.

What would one have to do?

To stir up feelings so strong

To cause such feelings of hostility

It would have to be something so wrong.

It’s as strong a word as love

Which it makes it more of a curiosity?

How can you hate a whole people?

What causes the animosity?

To hate a complete stranger

To really loathe another

In another situation

That man could be your brother.

If it can happen with love

Is there hate at first sight?

Look deep into your soul

See for yourself it’s not right.

Despite our varied appearance

We are all the same inside

This is cause for celebration

Not a reason to divide.

If you let hate into your heart

It’ll start to consume your soul

Then what will you have left?

Nothing but an empty hole.

We are black, brown, and white

Ginger, blonde and brunette

I’ve looked for a reason to hate

I’m glad I’ve not found one yet.

Sikhism, Judaism, Buddhism

Islam, Hinduism, Christianity

Is that enough cause for hate

Surely you see that’s insanity?

It’s time we put this behind us

One life, one Earth, one Sun

We’re endless in our differences

And yet we are one.

 

Love

n

  • A deep, tender, ineffable feeling of affection and solicitude toward another person.
About The Oldstrong

"At the end of the day, day My momma told me don't let no one break me, let no one break me At the end of the day, day, Nobody, nobody, ever could stop me, ever could stop me At the end of the day, day You can't regret it, if you were trying, if you were trying At the end of the day, day I'm walking with a heart of a lion, yeah"
This entry was posted in Poetry Emotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hate

  1. Tom says:

    Wow, strong stuff and so true!!

  2. katherine says:

    Fantastic style and format. very creative.

  3. adam rae says:

    amazing, I love the way it develops, there’s always more than meets the eye, the poems are like a journey through thought patterns.

  4. Nitsu says:

    Nice work!

    It’s very sad that hate is still so prominent within our world today! Good writers make magic with their words, here’s to hoping your spells cause hate to leave the hearts and minds of your readers and love to enter…

  5. H Hadfield says:

    I love the last lines of this poem….if only these idealistic visions could come true. Excellent work!

  6. Jingle says:

    true words, well conveyed message,
    Happy Rally.

  7. It is hard to understand how hate has a grip on the world. I often wonder what it is people are striving for that cause them to hate others. It’s a mystery to me.
    Nice writing!

  8. This was excellent! Such a good message. Let’s end hate!

  9. booguloo says:

    Nice, but a tall order. We as individuals need to be the ones to start it as you pointed out so well.

  10. Powerful message and wise words!

  11. Could we all stand together and spread the word…love not hate…as you have said. One world…one planet…one kind…mankind.

  12. This is one deep poem. Honestly. Hate is just a very strong word, eh?

  13. I applaud you. More people need to read this!!

    ps……..I am of the ginger variety and proud of it…..!lol

  14. fiveloaf says:

    good attempt my friend..

Leave a Reply

