Decide

He opens his eyes but he sees only black

Dazed and confused he whispers “I’m back!”

He pushes and pushes it’s so hard at his age

But his persistence pays off, the wood’s old and decayed

As the lid starts to move, his ambition swells and it grows

He wants to go back, back to the life that he knows

His hands clear the dirt, his fist punches the air

“I did it, I did it, I’m back, I’m here”

He coughs and he splutters he struggles with breathing

Coughs up a slug, a worm and now he’s heaving

“Better slow down, I’ve not long been around

Better take my time or it’s back in the ground!”

He dusts off his clothes runs his hands through his hair

He should feel relief but he feels only fear

There’s no one to turn to he feels so alone

He’s looking down at his coffin down at his headstone?

Overcome with shock he breaks into a run

“What’s happening to me, what have I become?”

Am I a zombie, a vampire, a creature of the night?

I’m a righteous man so I’ll do what’s right.

He holds up his head and turns back around

Ignores all his senses, every smell, every sound

Back to his gravestone he jumps six foot under

He pulls the lid back on and the dirt crashes like thunder.

“What brought me back, witchcraft, voodoo or maybe black magic?

I had my time, now it’s over, how tragic.”

He takes a deep breath, then exhales and he sighs

In the cycle of life everything lives then it dies

He was clever in life, in death he’s still wise

So he lays back his head and he closes his eyes.

About The Oldstrong

"At the end of the day, day My momma told me don't let no one break me, let no one break me At the end of the day, day, Nobody, nobody, ever could stop me, ever could stop me At the end of the day, day You can't regret it, if you were trying, if you were trying At the end of the day, day I'm walking with a heart of a lion, yeah"
This entry was posted in Poetry for Children and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Decide

  1. Tom says:

    Love it, great idea!

  2. katherine says:

    I think this is fab! Very creative idea.

  3. Jodie says:

    This is rather dark but I like it..a lot.

  4. Christopher Walker says:

    Powerful stuff, like it.

  5. adam rae says:

    Haha I love it, you never imagine Zombies to think human thoughts, I always imagined them to think ‘I’M HUNGRY For Human Brains!’

  6. Aaron Harris says:

    DEEP STUFF. IMPRESSIVE!!!

  7. H Hadfield says:

    I like how this poem flows; I can really visualize your character in my mind’s eye.

  8. C.R Mack says:

    Good stuff my brother

  9. Miss Kitten says:

    Love this! Very dark and Edgar Allen Poe-esque. Nicely done!

  10. Alcina says:

    Nice thought..Superb work with the words!

    Alcina

  11. What a novel concept! Love how you pulled this off. Very smooth!

    my poem for this week: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/she-sat-alone-2/

  12. What a wonderful imagination you have. I love this!!! You had me squirming with this line “Coughs up a slug, a worm and now he’s heaving”. Well done!

  13. ashbeezone says:

    Very Nice Poetry with an amazing Imagination
    Great Work of Creativity .. Fabulous Write !! 😉

    It was truly enjoyable after reading this one !!

    Anyways, Take a look some of my Poetry Collections …
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/talent-underground/poetry-zone/

    some of my Haiku Collections
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/category/creative-challenges/the-haiku-challenge/

    and also, on my very recent Work as well
    http://ashbeezone.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/india-of-my-dream/

    !!! Happy Rally !!!
    Cheers !!

  14. fiveloaf says:

    lovely work! glad to be of acquaintance through thursday poets- my posting this week~ http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2011/08/04/strength-of-faith/

  15. Manoj Kewalramani says:

    Brilliant! totally loved it… what an intriguing place to start, a grave… very well done 🙂

    here’s my poem for this week: http://wp.me/p1hI0l-7w

  16. CC Champagne says:

    There’s something so very sad about being strong enough to break death’s bonds, dig yourself up from your grave only to realise that you should go back to death! *sigh* Great words, great work!

  17. smart and beautiful….

  18. His acceptance of death came late but it came. Great imagery.

  19. wordcoaster says:

    Haha for the first part of the poem I pictured a toddler who had fallen in the dirt. It makes the line about the slug a lot more disgusting 😛 Once I got that image out of my mind I was able to enjoy the poem as you had intended it–nice write 🙂

  20. cinnamon blues says:

    Love the flow, structure and the story told. Brilliant read!

  21. dandylion28 says:

    Very good read, I’m proud to say i caught on quickly lol 🙂
    I love the last line “He was clever in life, in death he’s still wise
    So he lays back his head and he closes his eyes.”

    I guess it’s not always about what you want but more about whats necessary/important.
    Great job!

  22. tigerbrite says:

    Clever and well done. I enjoyed it,

  23. Caledoniapoems says:

    Loved it – well done 😉

  24. magher1 says:

    Wonderful story! Fun to read ;D

  25. Pingback: ‘Let it go on the seashore’ « The Chamber of Stories

Leave a Reply

