Vicious Cycle

Maybe I do have a low ability,

But it doesn’t reflect my capability.

I’ll never amount to anything,

Is that what you want to instil in me?

I want you to want me to do well,

That’s the only way I’ll excel.

Help me to be courageous,

Help my confidence to swell.

If I don’t feel I’m respected

I’ll behave worse than expected.

It’s a vicious cycle,

In the end I’ll be ejected.

Don’t you want me to believe?

Help me to believe.

You’re my surrogate parent

Help me to achieve.

I’m not the smartest if we’re realistic

But we can still be optimistic.

Have high expectations of me

I’m not just another statistic.

About The Oldstrong

"At the end of the day, day My momma told me don't let no one break me, let no one break me At the end of the day, day, Nobody, nobody, ever could stop me, ever could stop me At the end of the day, day You can't regret it, if you were trying, if you were trying At the end of the day, day I'm walking with a heart of a lion, yeah"
This entry was posted in Poetry for Children and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vicious Cycle

  1. Tom says:

    Brilliant!!

  2. Sarah says:

    Beautiful and perceptive images.

  3. katherine says:

    Such a great topic and an excellent way of making people aware of how children can feel growing up. Great to read!

  4. Christopher says:

    Certainly rings true. Great stuff!

  5. H Hadfield says:

    Your creative rhyming technique makes me want to read on. Writing from the child’s perspective gives the poem weight and power – great work.

Leave a Reply

