Remembering Katrina

True colours shown

When the levees broke

The truth remained unknown

When the levees broke

Racism evident

When the levees broke

Classism prevalent

When the levees broke

Blacks left to die

When the levees broke

The poor asking why

When the levees broke

No response for days

When the levees broke

Death in so many ways

When the levees broke

Not socially significant

When the levees broke

The Government indifferent

When the levees broke

Press conference on Iraq

When the levees broke

What of the poor and black

When the levees broke

Left alone to their fates

When the levees broke

Dispersed across the States

When the levees broke

Disregard displayed

When the levees broke

Reminded of slave trade

When the levees broke

The conditions inhumane

When the levees broke

Couldn’t imagine the pain

When the levees broke

The dead left in the street

When the levees broke

Searching for food to eat

When the levees broke

Not much choice was left

When the levees broke

Branded looting and theft

When the levees broke

Rage, despair, sorrow

When the levees broke

Praying for tomorrow

When the levees broke

What justice did they get?

When the levees broke

We will never forget

When the levees broke

My story never ending

Mr words never pretending

My poetry…my experiences

To each other are lending

 

I would like to nominate nochipa

http://nochipa.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/he-wo-ni-tsa-la-gi-i-am-cherokee/

About The Oldstrong

"At the end of the day, day My momma told me don't let no one break me, let no one break me At the end of the day, day, Nobody, nobody, ever could stop me, ever could stop me At the end of the day, day You can't regret it, if you were trying, if you were trying At the end of the day, day I'm walking with a heart of a lion, yeah"
This entry was posted in Poetry Emotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Remembering Katrina

  1. Jingle says:

    yes, we remember life in all aspects, beautiful message, thanks for joining poets rally.

    have fun!

  2. Fountains says:

    The repetition of “when the levees broke” makes this a stronger piece, almost a sound of disbelief.

    • It was utter disbelief! After watching the documentary I saw so much that the media hadn’t shown, I was nearly in tears, I felt compelled to write something, to help the truth be told

  3. J Sirrah says:

    You brought many things to light with this.
    Upon seeing the damage first hand 3 days after it hit, I can strongly relate to this.
    Thank you for sharing and caring 🙂

  4. poetryroad says:

    Powerfully written and sadly true! Nice job! I love poems that reflect upon real life like this piece! I did one on Joplin that was like this. Good stuff. I look forward to reading more of your work!

  5. Very nicely written piece.

  6. Powerful the repetition is highly effective, really breaks my heart such tragedy

  7. Tigerbrite says:

    Excellent and moving write.

  8. shannadodd says:

    Powerful. I live in Louisiana so this piece has great personal meaning for me. If you’re also from here, I can only imagine what it costs to write this poem. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

