Loot

A young man lost his life…to violence

The people took to the street to protest,

We have the right to march…

…to protest

…to riot!?

To cause destruction!?

To loot, to steal…like a thief

It beggars belief

There must have been a miscommunication

The rights benefitted us as citizens of this nation

The real people and when I say real

I mean the ones who are not out to steal

…Have long fled

Their cause has been perverted by these violent…petty…thieves

They don’t realise how easy they have it in the UK

Jail a comfortable stay

Even during recession life here is easier than most around the globe

These vultures…organising this outlandish behaviour via technology…

Facebook and Blackberry Pings collaborating at high speed…to sate their greed

Exploiting the situation….what could have been an opportunity to unite, to voice dissatisfaction at an ongoing situation…to be heard…

….be constructive!? Absurd!!!

Setting fire to a bus…why!?

Setting fire to property

Wrecking the livelihood of individuals who have worked hard to build something for themselves

To provide a service for the community

Severe punishment…no impunity

Harsh consequences to bring them to their senses…

…for this senseless…violence

There’s fighting for a cause but this isn’t it

Violence begets violence

Always casualties

Followed… by

…Silence.

 

For those who don’t know, a young man was shot dead by the police in Tottenham North London (UK). People took to the streets to protest and demand justice. The shooting was the catalyst for rising tensions due to the police treatment of youths…mainly those from ethnic minorities. This behaviour from the police is not limited to North London and is common all around London, having experienced it a LARGE number of times myself living in South London. However that aside this poem is in reaction to those who have used it as an opportunity for disgusting behaviour…for crime. In the time taken to write this poem riotting has started in Lewisham…a five minute drive from where I live in one direction and a bus has been set on fire in Peckham…a five minute drive from where I live in the other direction.

About The Oldstrong

"At the end of the day, day My momma told me don't let no one break me, let no one break me At the end of the day, day, Nobody, nobody, ever could stop me, ever could stop me At the end of the day, day You can't regret it, if you were trying, if you were trying At the end of the day, day I'm walking with a heart of a lion, yeah"
This entry was posted in Poetry Emotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Loot

  1. Pingback: London’s Voilence « Cbcburke9's Blog

  2. Koral says:

    a heart felt response to the thieves on the streets… and it continues.

  3. Rebecca Ell says:

    Very good – very evocative. Thank you. I too entered the rally with a poem about London – http://rebeccaell.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/londons-burning/

    It seems to have fired some creativity in a lot of people – a shame that something like this could happen. My hometown is rioting today, if the rumours are to be believed. I fear for my family. I am currently holidaying in the USA and feel so lucky to have escaped the violence that my friends are stuck in the middle of… x

  4. Seabell says:

    I see the images, hear the circumstances and can only say that London riots are just like Maputo riots (February 2005 and September 2010). And I agree with you: because of the language they use, one cannot respect their reasons…

  5. Morning says:

    I know how it feels when attacked by thieves, what a unique poem, well done.

    🙂

  6. kshawnedgar says:

    I understand your frustrated feelings about the complexities of protests turned to riots, and am glad you’re on the ground thinking, reacting and writing. A protest like this one, steaming from a terrible, emotional event of clear wrongdoing on the part of the police, is combustible from the start; not planned in a ratioal manner, as other types of protests are. I think you are mistaken to draw such a black-and-white line between “good” protesters (your so-called real people) and “bad” rioters. Looting during a riot does not always come from rational thought ( e.g., I’m going take this opportunity to steal). It’s usually an overreaction to the emotional situation, an act of desperation, and a product of consumer-slave mob mentality — they are not simple criminals taking advantage. Look back to your Ratcliffe Highway murders and the mob reaction that followed.

  7. I watch the reports on the news from here in the U.S., and I am stunned.

    My poem this week – http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/one-hell-of-a-ride-2/

  8. thingy says:

    There is no justification for what they are doing. It is incredibly sad and such a waste.

Leave a Reply

