Absent

Lightning strikes behind my eyes

Thunder crashes my brain

I enter the void

My muscles spasm, contract beyond my capability

…hard like steel

I couldn’t tell you what I feel

I am absent…

…where am I?

I’m in the void.

Talk to me, my body responds

My mouth, my breath, my voice…but not me

If not me then who?

I remember nothing

Awaken to fear

Trembling, new to this world

Though I’ve been here for years

Breathless, exhausted, confused, afraid

Face stained by tears

help…Help…HELP

my strength has abandoned me

I try to walk

My first step harder than my first steps.

It’s happened many times before

Yet each time is the first…

…Each time is the worst.

My story never ending

Mr words never pretending

My poetry…my experiences

To each other are lending

I would like to nominate nochipa

http://nochipa.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/he-wo-ni-tsa-la-gi-i-am-cherokee/

About The Oldstrong

"At the end of the day, day My momma told me don't let no one break me, let no one break me At the end of the day, day, Nobody, nobody, ever could stop me, ever could stop me At the end of the day, day You can't regret it, if you were trying, if you were trying At the end of the day, day I'm walking with a heart of a lion, yeah"
This entry was posted in Poetry Emotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Absent

  1. Aaron Harris says:

    Deep writing skills man. “Lightning strikes behind my eyes”. Wicked and dramatic description. This poem needs to be read out load with a gloomy soundtrack in the background. Serious. People will get chills blud!

  2. katherine says:

    I love the lines ‘I am absent…where am I? I am in the void’ Hard to imagine feeling like this. Extremely well written with great emotion.

  3. Jingle says:

    Thanks for visiting me, awesome poetry.
    keep it up…

  4. Darlene says:

    I’ve read several of your poems and enjoyed them very much, mostly because I sense your “heart” in them and that is where true poetry is born and that is what carries its music, the heart. I just love this newest piece here and I want to say that on your piece “mixed race” I kept thinking that we’re all really ‘colored’ people, made with various shades of earth. We are mingled pottery.

  5. Very intense and even frightening, love the drama great job!

  6. kirti says:

    the ending was chilling.”yet each time is the first, each time is the worst”. loved it. great poetry..

  7. Leo says:

    I’ve been there. Intense. Like a nightmare happening in front of me.. Excellent portrayal in wordplay.

  8. “Thunder crashes my brain
    I enter the void”
    That part! If I read this in a book, I’d underline those two lines. Well, if I wasn’t opposed to writing in books… Strong words. I would’ve liked it even more if the entire poem was this simple and strong.

  9. belfastdavid says:

    Sometimes, as I grow older, I try to look into the future – it can look just like this!!!

    David

  10. Soulicitor says:

    Very well expressed. Age we shall, die we will. Where weak today, we have been strong and who knows life may carry on, on the other side.

  11. terri0729 says:

    Wow, this poem captures what I have felt many times before! Wonderfully descriptive of a body in crisis. Thanks for your visit to my blog too! Thought I would return the favor and I’m glad that I did. God bless, Teresa

  12. booguloo says:

    I’ve had an experience a couple of times when It seemed like my head exploded. Not a good feeling. It hasn’t happened in years, but it’s something I won’t forget. Never had the the seizure though. You brought it out vividly in this poem.

  13. Appreciate your deep emotion in all of your poems…

  14. Pat Cegan says:

    I worked on a mobile intensive care unit and saw many seizure patients. How vividly and accurately you describe what happens. I, too, wonder were the “I” goes during seizures, comas, etc. Since I believe the void is not void at all, I hang on to the hope that one is gently cared for by souls disincarnated until the person “returns” to the conscious world. Wonderfully written and important for people to know about.

    Thanks for visiting me, too.

    Hugs, pat

  15. Pingback: The Perfect Poet Award of Poets Rally Week 48 | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  16. intense poem, congrats on the award

  17. Jo Bryant says:

    Such deep emotion – the last line is perfect – and very emotional.

  18. Ina says:

    Wonderfull how you describe this, it looks like a stroke or something? The void, what happend, but you came back 🙂

  19. poetryroad says:

    excellent…def deserved this week’s award!

  20. Wow, great work. Congrats on a well earned award 🙂

  21. Grå Sky says:

    Oh wow…. such fear and anxiety, you captured the rawness of such mind numbing experiences with a powerful poem. Thanks so much for sharing

  22. cinnamon blues says:

    Great poem with emotions that moved me. Congratulations on the well-deserved award. 🙂

  23. To me, your poem is what a soul going through reincarnation would experience…again and again…many first steps. New to this world, though you’ve been there for years. Thought provoking. Is this what awaits us all?
    Rosie

  24. Joel Hall says:

    Fascinating piece. Very strong. Evokes a swirl of emotions and piques the curiosity. Wonderful verse. I applaud you. 🙂

  25. My goodness…there’s such power in your words. I was taken in with the first line and wow’d all the way through. Awesome imagery!

  26. Intense emotions and so well written. Congratulations for receiving the award! I have no clue if there were any poems better. As a former Director of the North Alabama Epilepsy Foundation, I, too, recognized the intensity of his experience from those who try to explain what happens. WLRH Public Radio and the NA Epilepsy Foundation produced a documentary called “Through the Looking Glass”. It won 2 national awards and one from Australia…is stored in the JFK Library! Would that all those I knew could read your poem. Great work! Thanks for visiting today and thanks for sharing.

  27. Correction to the above…must be age related. The documentary was titled: The Other Side of the Looking Glass….there that’s right!

Leave a Reply

